Female Reproductive Organs - sectional View (Female Reproductive system)

The female reproductive organs include the vagina (a muscular passage that connects the cervix with the external genital organs - one of which is a sensitive mound of tissue called the clitoris), the cervix (the lower part of the uterus that separates the body of the uterus from the vagina), the uterus (a hollow, muscular structure), the ovaries (two glands that produce certain hormones and contain tissue sacs in which eggs develop), and fallopian tubes (two muscular channels that connect the ovaries with the uterus). Fingerlike projections called fimbriae (located at the opening of the fallopian tubes) sweep an egg released from an ovary into the tube.

1. fallopian tube
2. uterus
3. rectum
4. cervix
5. vagina
6. urethra
7. ovary
8. urinary bladder

Illustration provided by: DeEtte M. DeVille, MD

Rate Photo:

6 Ratings

Views: 6991

Link this photo to your website:

Copy the above code and paste it into your webpage, blog or forum

Comments On Female Reproductive Organs - sectional View (Female Reproductive system)0

Your Comment
Your Name
Your Email

Your Email will not be shown with your comment

Secret Number

Please type the numbers shown above into the Secret Number box.