The skin the largest organ of the body is made up of a thin outer layer (called the epidermis) and a thicker outer layer (called the dermis). Below the dermis is the subcutaneous tissue, which contains fat. Buried in the skin are nerves that sense cold, heat, pain, pressure, and touch. Sebaceous glands secrete a lubricating substance called sebum. Deep within the skin are your sweat glands, which produce perspiration when you are too hot.

1. epidermis
2. dermis
3. subcutaneous tissue
4. cutaneous nerve
5. blood vessels
6. sweat gland
7. hair bulb
8. nerve ending
9. sebaceous gland
10. hair root
11. hair shaft

Source: AMAs Current Procedural Terminology, Revised 1998 Edition. CPT is a trademark of the American Medical Association.

Rate Photo:

6 Ratings

Views: 3271

Link this photo to your website:

Copy the above code and paste it into your webpage, blog or forum

Your Comment
Your Name
Your Email

Your Email will not be shown with your comment

Secret Number

Please type the numbers shown above into the Secret Number box.